Ginseng Roots 1 Craig Thompson

Craig Thompson’s Ginseng Roots Collectible Box

Ginseng Roots #1

As we’re making final preparations to print the first issue of Craig Thompson’s Ginseng Rootswe’re also thinking about the container that will hold the whole series together. A few of you out there have been asking about the Ginseng Roots Collectible Box which is currently offered for free with with 12 issue Ginseng Roots Subscription. We have some preliminary details below.

First Comic Series

But wait, if you hearing about Ginseng Roots for the first time, welcome! This is Craig’s first ever comic book series. It’s hard to believe, but it’s true! All of his other projects have been graphic novels. We’re super excited to bring this project to life! Here’s a little what the story is about:

Part memoir, part travelogue, part essay—all comic book—Ginseng Roots explores class divide, agriculture, holistic healing, the 300 year long trade relationship between China and North America, childhood labor, and the bond between two brothers. 

From ages 10 to 20, Craig Thompson (the author of Blankets) and his little brother Phil, toiled in Wisconsin farms. Weeding and harvesting ginseng—an exotic medicinal herb that fetched huge profits in China—funded Craig’s youthful obsession with comic books. Comics in turn, allowed him to escape his rural, working class trappings.

Sounds amazing, right? If you don’t believe us, click here to check out the first few pages from issue one.

Subscription + Free Box

The first issue will be in stores this summer, but we have a special offer for fans of Craig Thompson and Uncivilized Books. If you subscribe to all 12 issues of Ginseng Roots, you will get the special collectible box for free!

So here’s the idea. The box will be able to hold all 12 issues and the various special prints and freebies that we will be releasing with each issue. I made mock-up of what the box might look like, but please note, Craig will be designing this box from scratch. It will look much, much better!

With the box, you’ll be able to hold all the issues, and be able to proudly display the box on your shelf! Pretty cool, huh?

The Ginseng Roots subscription with free box offer is open until April 7th, 2019.

Many more details to come! Keep up with us via this blog, or sign up for our monthly newsletter. The sign-up box is on the right.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top